A loving, natural, nurturing place for your child to grow.

Subtitle

Sunshine Dayhome

My name is Laura Armstrong, and I have been working as an Early Childhood Educator for over a decade. From when I was 15 years old, my idea of a fun time was to watch and take care of small children. I love being a part of their daily lives, and helping to teach them, protect them, and help them grow and learn. I believe in the importance of unstructured free play time, and have a TV-free environment. I am a mother to three, and have experience working with mixed ages of children in a variety of settings (running group song and story programs, working as a nanny, running an accredited dayhome since 2009, and more).

I am honored to share that I was recently chosen as a recipient for the 2017 Child Development Professional Award of Excellence! A video commemorating that award can be seen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZI0s-HXzK6I

The aspect of my dayhome which sets it apart from the rest is that I run a Waldorf-inspired dayhome. While this means many things, the biggest benefits for your children are daily time spent outside in nature, an established outdoor learning environment, a media and TV-free space, and open-ended toys made of natural materials. For more information, please see the Waldorf page on this site.

I have my current Level C and Child Care First Aid and CPR, Advanced Food Safety certification, and current police security and child welfare checks.  I was a volunteer with St. John's Ambulance for years, so I feel confident that I can handle pretty much any situation that arises! I received my Child Development Supervisor certificate and Early Learning and Childcare diploma in the fall of 2014, and am on track to receive a degree in Child and Youth Care by 2020.  I offer individualized programming that follows an emergent curriculum, and we spend time outside every day.

I have a chemical-free home, and minimize the amounts of processed foods we eat by serving them only as special treats. I serve healthy, home-made meals and snacks daily, and protect the children's senses by maintaining a media-free environment and offering toys made of natural materials. This helps children develop their own minds and creativity, and allows them to grow as leaders in the world. We are outside whenever the weather permits, at least once or twice every day.

My location is ideal, as well. I'm in the south side of Edmonton, just off of Whyte Ave and 75 Street, and a short drive from downtown. I live near many wonderful playgrounds and green spaces, as well as the Idylwylde library which we visit often. 

My dayhome is open Tuesday to Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. If you are interested in a full or part-time child care space, please contact me at [email protected].

I am an accredited dayhome through Leduc-Strathcona Services for Children, and families can apply for subsidy through them. For more information, go to http://www.servicesforchildren.ca/, or dial 780-464-5803. 

Recent Blog Entries

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.